Behold, the Garlic Scape!

Garlic scapes, the slender stems growing from the tops of garlic bulbs, remind me of a whimsical work of art. Their green stems artfully spiral and twist lending a certain graceful elegance to the garden. They are not just pretty to look at, however. Garlic scapes can be used in place of garlic cloves, though their flavor is slightly less assertive.  My family loves to make garlic scape pesto and use it as a yummy dip for bread, as a different take on traditional garlic bread. The scapes can also be used in place of garlic in your favorite homemade salad dressing. I’ve also seen them used in mashed potatoes for a twist on garlic mash potatoes.

How about you? Have you used garlic scapes in your kitchen? If so, I’d love to hear all about your culinary creations!

Until Next Week…Plan Well, Pack Well, Live Well,

Katie

2 thoughts on “Behold, the Garlic Scape!

  1. Ellie

    Hi Katie,
    I have never heard of garlic scapes, my interest is peaked and I will have to try them. Are they generally sold at super markets or just farmers market?
    I enjoy garlic, so we will see!
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

