Oh, Honey, Honey!

Honey is one of the most versatile ingredients to work with in the kitchen.  Here are my three favorite uses for this ingredient:

  1. Unfortunately, illness of all shapes and sizes seem to be going around this time of year.  I, for one, have had a terrible sore throat for what is going on two weeks.  However, whenever I feel as though I am about to lose my voice, I consume one tablespoon of raw honey.  Not only does the raw honey soothe my sore throat, it also preserves my speaking voice.
  2. Spring has (almost) sprung, and with a vibrant new season on its way, allergies too are on the horizon.  My mother suffered from pollen allergies year after year, until one winter/spring when she started stirring local, raw honey into her tea.  In fact, for the months leading up to hay fever primetime, she regularly consumed this local honey.  By the time hay fever season did roll around, her allergy symptoms decreased significantly, and although they were not completely assuaged, they were much easier to manage.
  3. Raw honey is a delightful pairing for a variety of dairy products.  In particular, I enjoy one teaspoon of raw honey with one cup of plain Greek yogurt.  Also, my family and I enjoy pairing raw honey and cheese (cheddar and Gruyere for example) together when preparing appetizers and hors d’oeuvres for holiday gatherings.  The raw honey is a great substitute for quince paste, and elevates a cheese plate, creating a sophisticated flavor profile.

When purchasing honey, always remember to read the ingredient label.  As you read, be on the look out for added sugars and preservatives such as high fructose corn syrup.  Remember that ideally the only ingredient on the label should be honey!  Finally, I would suggest purchasing raw honey from a farmer’s market or co-op.  I have found that these places are far more likely to offer honey that is locally sourced than commercial supermarkets.

What are your favorite recipes to prepare that include honey as an ingredient?  Do you enjoy adding honey to certain foods and beverages?  Please let me know!

Until Next Week… Plan Well, Pack Well, Live Well,

Katie

2 thoughts on “Oh, Honey, Honey!

  1. Taryn

    Commenting better late than never? My morning routine includes a smoothie made with a mini-spoonful of raw buckwheat honey (which is a great cough suppressant). I like the rich, earthy flavor (it tastes better than it smells, especially when warmed in tea!). I blend it with a banana, grated fresh ginger, plain goat’s milk kefir, and a splash of water. I also love raw local honey on wholegrain toast with avocado and a bit of sea salt for breakfast. Thanks for this post, Katie!

Leave a Reply

