Happy Thanksgiving!

I’d like to begin this week’s post with a shout-out to all of the families who visited “Project Lunchbox: Let’s Eat!”at Howe Manning School’s Get Moving Night this past Friday evening.  It was a pleasure to meet you and to dialogue with you about all things nutrition!  I hope that you benefitted from our discussion about organic versus conventionally grown produce and how to maximize your organic food budget.  Please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions via the “Comment” section of this site, as I am thrilled that you have become official subscribers to my “Let’s Eat Lunch!” Blog.  Thank you for your interest!

Secondly, Thanksgiving Day is less than a week away!  And, since I adore tradition, it has become standard practice for me to post a favorite quote of mine at this time of the year that sums up the upcoming holiday and its true meaning:

“None is more impoverished than the one who has no gratitude.  Gratitude is a currency that we can mint for ourselves, and spend without fear of bankruptcy.”

-Fred De Witt Van Amburgh

This year in particular I am grateful for many things, and among them, I am thankful for your continued support of “Project Lunchbox: Let’s Eat!” and its mission to educate families about the link between healthy eating and positive school performance.  I am truly appreciative that you take time out of your week to read my blog additions, ask questions, and start conversations about nutrition, food justice, and wellness on this site.  Your enthusiastic participation makes teaching and writing such a joy for me!

I hope that you and yours enjoy a very Happy Thanksgiving!

Until Next Week… Plan Well, Pack Well, Live Well,

Katie 🙂

 

 

12 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Chloe

    Thank you, Katie, for all of your informative and educational writing. I have learned so much from your blog, and I look forward to your posts each Sunday. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Paige

    Hi Katie! I had commented in the past about Meatless Monday’s at my school, and you gave me great tips. We have not started them yet– we were thinking of beginning the first Monday of December and keeping it kind of a secret. There was some backlash at first, and I think that if we start without advertising, people won’t even realize we have been doing Meatless Mondays. We’ll end the month with a survey asking what people thought about the meals and if they have noticed anything different. Do you think this is a good idea?? Happy Thanksgiving!! Hope you have some great food.

    1. Absolutely! I think that the survey will be a wonderful tool to quantify the students’ opinions and perceptions about Meatless Monday’s. I am confident that Meatless Monday’s will be met with much success at your school, and I look forward to hearing about your continued progress. I hope that you and your family enjoy a Happy Thanksgiving!

      1. Paige

        Thank you! It has been a rough start, but I think kids will be fine with it once it begins. I hope you had a nice holiday as well.

      2. Implementing change is almost never easy… I agree with you that students will probably be more receptive to your initiative once they are educated about the purpose of your work and the benefits of Meatless Monday’s. Stay positive and remember that you’re doing a wonderful job!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving Katie. You have already touched so many lives by bringing awareness to the way folks are eating or should be eating. Your ears may ring at your dinner table as folks are counting you as one of the blessings that crossed their healthy path!

    1. Thank you so much for your touching comment, and for being such an avid supporter of my endeavors. I truly appreciate it! I hope that you and your family enjoy a very Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

