Ode to Bob…

Yes, our family has dived in headfirst to the world of homemade sourdough bread making.  And, you guessed it, Bob is the name of our sourdough starter (the instruction manual said to name it as it quickly becomes a part of the family… we’ll see).  He’s being fed as we speak, and I’ll report the hopefully yummy findings next week.

Does anybody else make their own sourdough bread?  If you do, what is the name of your starter? 🙂  Also, if you have any favorite sourdough recipes, please leave a comment, as my family and I are looking for some to put in the sourdough rotation!

Everybody remember to share their sourdough stories!

Until Next Week… Plan Well, Pack Well, Live Well,

Katie 🙂

8 thoughts on “Ode to Bob…

  1. Tami

    Yes! We have had our own sourdough starter! We got it from our neighbor who has kept hers going since the 1970’s. I can’t say that we were THAT diligent since we no longer have it :(.. I have a really good coffee cake recipe that uses it. Plan on it taking up lots of room on your fridge since its usually kept in a large bucket. Happy Baking!!

    1. Wow, I can’t believe that she kept hers going since the 70s… that’s amazing, good for her! I can’t imagine a coffee cake with sourdough starter, and I can’t wait to try it. Please send me that recipe! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  2. El

    Well I have never made sour dough bread, never mind getting my own starter, maybe someday I’ll think about investing in a starter of my own… thanks!

  3. Tara

    Katie I am so excited to try this. Thank you for the awesome idea. I have been eating healthier and feeling great since I have been reading your blog. You are an inspiration.

    1. Tara, I’m so excited that you’re going to try the sourdough starter!! Definitely let me know how it goes, and also feel free to pass along any yummy recipes you come across. Thank you for commenting!

  4. Kelly

    Katie I absolutely LOVED this post. Thank you for sharing this. I think Bob is really lucky to have been indoctrinated into your family. That is one lucky bread maker!!!! Although I have not made my own bread, other than pizza dough, I will look into finding some recipies for you to experiment with!!!!!! Wish I could come over for breakfast and make you some french toast with some of this deliciousness!!!

Leave a Reply

