Baked Eggs!

Who knew… boiled eggs can be baked in the oven instead of being boiled on the stovetop!  Yes, baked eggs is a thing, and they’re my new favorite lunch item!  I’m convinced that they taste better than the hard-boiled eggs prepared on the stovetop, and they’re really easy and fun to make!  Here’s the method for making your own, (and maybe some for your family and friends as well for the upcoming Easter holiday!)  The method my family has been using is from Alton Brown, and he says that when dying more than a dozen eggs, baking them is less of a cumbersome approach than hard-boiling them on the stove-top.  First, you want to place a dozen eggs, preferably cage-free 🙂 inside a mini-muffin container.  You want the pointed top part of the egg facing upwards in the muffin tin.  Next, bake the eggs for half an hour at a 325 degree F oven.  After the eggs have finished baking, make sure to immediately transfer them into an ice bath for five minutes.  After that, crack the egg on a counter or another hard surface to ensure easy peeling, and enjoy!

Let me know if anybody tries to make baked eggs instead of hard-boiled eggs… yes it really works, and they’re a lot creamier and far easier to make than their hard-boiled counterparts!

Until Next Week… Plan Well, Pack Well, Live Well,

Katie 🙂

17 thoughts on “Baked Eggs!

  1. Mr. Z.

    SO trying this. But 12 minutes vs 30? I don’t know about easier. AND I have to buy a mini muffin tin? But creamier would be worth it!

    Thanks for the tip!

    1. Trust me, it’s definitely easier. You pop the raw egg into a mini muffin tin (or a regular size muffin tin). And if you don’t have either of those, place the eggs right on the oven rack. Definitely creamier and definitely easier to remove the eggshells after their ice bath! Let me know what you think! Thanks for writing.

  2. Jen

    OMG!!! I cannot wait to try this! Hard-boiled eggs never crack open properly when I boil them! I will let you know. Thank you

  3. Karen Martin

    I am definitely going to try this and will let you know how it goes.
    Thank you for your always informative and thought provoking blogs

    Karen Martin

  4. Marianne

    I tried this today and it worked great! My eggs are delicious! They are so much better than my boiled eggs. I usually end up overcooking those! Thanks, Katie!

  5. Christine Green

    I’m totally going to try this. Whenever I boil a large batch of eggs many of them crack which is not ideal when you want to dye them. I’m hoping baking will prevent the cracking.

  6. Pingback: In the Name of Health…17 Food Intentions to Set in the New Year – Katie Chiffer: Nutrition Advocate, Food Blogger, & Health Enthusiast

Leave a Reply

