Have You Read…

Sometimes eating healthier is easier said than done.  So, this week, I have a book recommendation for you.  The book, by Michael Pollan, is basically an eater’s manual entitled, Food Rules.  It is divided into three sections,with each section answering these essential questions: What should I eat? What kind of food should I eat?  How should I eat?  Here are some of Pollan’s food rules, one from each of the three sections:

Food Rule #6: “Avoid food products that contain more than 5 ingredients.”  The specific number of ingredients you decide on is, of course, arbitrary.  Just remember though, the more ingredients found in a packaged food, the more highly processed it is.

Food Rule #36:  “Don’t eat breakfast cereals that change the color of the milk.”  You know how I feel about chemical additives.  You can be sure that if the color of your milk is changing when it encounters breakfast cereal, then said cereal is full of chemical additives!

Food Rule #57:  “Don’t get your fuel from the same place your car does.” As it turns out, gas stations in the U.S. now make more money selling food (and cigarettes) than they do selling gasoline. With the exception of milk and water, any food found in a gas station is highly processed and ridiculously sweetened.

As I think you will agree, Food Rules is really a terrific book and at only 140 pages, it’s a quick read as well!  I’d love to know if any of you have already read it.  If not, let me know when you do!

Until Next Week…Plan Well, Pack Well, Live Well,

Katie 🙂

5 thoughts on “Have You Read…

  1. Hi Katie,
    I remember reading another rule somewhere about the best part of the grocery store being the perimeter of the store…produce, dairy, protein, etc is around the perimeter and all the “junk” tends to be in the aisles. I’m looking foward to reading this book!
    Scott

  2. Sam L.

    Ah, well… Time for my daily technicality, I guess… Although I do agree on the gas stations (honestly, if I’m buying food in there, I’m REALLY hungry), I’m not so sure about the last two. Honestly, I think that a cereal that changes the color of the milk could simply contain something pigmented (cocoa, naturally derived beta carotene for vitamin A, etc.) that isn’t harmful. Also, there are perfectly healthy foods that have more than five ingredients (such as tossed salads or a soup), so I think the judgement depends on the sort of ingredient involved than the number of them– and also that it’s PROCESSED. I dunno, I just feel like people can be mislead by even the best statements, and I want to be fair in this case… Still, for the most part, these rules seem to hold true.

    1. Fair enough. How’s this: MOST OFTEN, when your breakfast cereal changes the color of your milk, you probably want to look for another cereal. Of course, a quick perusal of the ingredient list will also yield where the color is coming from. 🙂 By the way, I would be very interested in hearing your thoughts about the book after you read it. Thanks for writing in! 🙂 Katie

  3. El

    I have not read that particular book yet, but you can be sure I will. How could I not pay attention to your advice Katie, when you have been so informative with every past blog!
    Thank you , terrific as always

Leave a Reply

