My Guest Blogger has written an original poem…

Hi Everyone,

As I mentioned on Tuesday, my sister Elizabeth (a fellow girl scout) is guest blogging this post.  I hope you enjoy her original poem about the perils of high fructose corn syrup and genetically modified organisms.

Happy Friday!

Katie 🙂

High Fructose Corn Syrup

Sticky, smooth, and super sweet.

Found in Coke, bread, and even ketchup.

If we didn’t have it we would…use sugar.

So what’s the big deal?

It has only made America’s obesity rate skyrocket,

Replaced real cane sugar because it’s cheaper

AND is often made from genetically modified corn.

Who wouldn’t want to eat mutant corn sweetener?

I definitely don’t.

As for my personal opinion, I like food from the ground,

Not a science lab!

What are the effects of “GMOs?”

Could it be a higher risk of

toxicity,

allergenicity,

antibiotic resistance,

immune suppression,

and cancer?

Yes!

Stay away from mutant food.

Stay away from High Fructose Corn Syrup.

7 thoughts on “My Guest Blogger has written an original poem…

  1. Whose words these are I think I know.
    Her wisdom’s vast and continues to grow;
    Listen closely and you will hear
    That GMO’s have got to go.

    Corn syrup’s bad, you should stay clear
    And respond to big business with boos and jeers
    This is solid advice that you should take
    And listen to with both your ears

    Great job Elizabeth!
    Scott

  2. Elizabeth S.

    Hi Elizabeth, nice job on your poem. It makes me think of how many foods I have to remove from my diet!!!
    Elizabeth (great name!)

  3. Doug

    Ahh yes… The girls teaming up to take on mass-food producers and educate the world… Now we’re talking! We’re right behind you ladies!

Leave a Reply

